This is so very very…sad.

I’m all for trying to make classical music relevant to a new generation.

But I’m not sure this is the way:

In fact, I’m pretty sure this is not the way. (Don’t even bother to watch it all–skip ahead to maybe 2:50 or so, watch for a few seconds till your eyeballs begin to bleed and your lunch threatens to backtrack its way to a simpler time, pour a stiff bourbon, and come back.) (Are you back now? I told you it would not be pleasant.)

The friend who posted this on his Facebook page said, “If this is what it takes to get a particular demographic to attend an orchestral concert, then it’s time to shutter the hall.” And I absolutely share his horror.

The thing is, I don’t think this IS what it will take to bring a new demographic in–I mean, they may come for this concert, but is there anything about this–this display–(imagine that word spoken by Judi Dench or Maggie Smith in the haughtiest tone possible) that would make anyone go, “Hey, this symphony stuff is cool, if I liked this, I bet I’d love the Beethoven 7th they are doing next week!” No, they’ll go, “Hey! Sir Mix-a-lot! And dig the chick twerking like crazy up there!” If anything, the symphonic players in the background look even more stilted, jaded, stiff, and old-fashioned than they do in a more typical concert.

I’m not sure what the answer is.

But as I say, I’m pretty sure this isn’t it.

 

1 thought on “This is so very very…sad.

  1. Pingback: Don’t stiff the musicians (The Internet explodes) | Chick with a Stick

Leave a comment